SA, WA set hard borders with NSW as cases mount

SA, WA set hard borders with NSW as cases mount

Update (4.20pm AEST 23 June): The Northern Territory and the Australian Capial Territory have both imposed new border restrictions this afternoon.

The NT has declared greater metropolitan Sydney, the City of Blue Mountains and the City of Wollongong as hotspots, meaning anyone who has been in those areas must undertake 14 days of mandatory quarantine on arrival in the top end from 6pm today.

In addition, the ACT is introducing a 'stay-at-home' requirement for anyone who arrives in the ACT from 4pm today having left the seven local government areas of City of Sydney, Waverley, Randwick, Canada Bay, Inner West, Bayside and Woollahra.

South Australian and West Australian health officials have now closed their state borders to New South Wales in response to the growing outbreak of the COVID-19 Delta variant in Sydney.

Effective today, both SA and WA have reintroduced hard borders to all travellers from NSW, with exceptions for those conducting essential travel.

The moves follow decisions from Victorian and Queensland health officials to lock out seven Sydney local government areas (LGAs) classified as red zones, including the city of Sydney, Waverley, Woollahra, Bayside, Canada Bay, Inner West and Randwick. 

Tasmania has followed suit, prohibiting anyone who has visited these 'high-risk' LGAs since 11 June from entry. The ACT is expected to make an announcement on the NSW situation this afternoon.

For SA, the ban applies to all travellers from NSW who have been in that state in the last 14 days.

However, the new rules make an exception for those living within a 100-kilometre buffer zone for cross border communities, as well as South Australians returning home, essential travellers, people moving to the state permanently and those escaping domestic violence.

WA has reintroduced its hard border with NSW, which it now classifies as 'medium risk' amidst the escalating situation.

This means travel from NSW to WA is no longer permitted and applies to those who may have been in NSW and have not subsequently been in a 'very low risk' state or territory for 14 days, including anyone from the ACT who has travelled into NSW during that period.

Exempt travellers (active military personnel, Commonwealth parliamentarians, and more) arriving in WA today must self-quarantine for 14 days, present for a COVID-19 test within 48 hours and another test on day 11 after arrival in WA.

"In light of NSW's growing COVID-19 outbreak, we have reintroduced a hard border with NSW based on the latest health advice," WA Premier Mark McGowan said.

"We've been monitoring the situation closely and have scaled up our border controls as required, to keep our community safe.

"Naturally these immediate changes will cause inconvenience but the hard border is necessary to protect the health of Western Australians."

Updated at 2.38pm AEST on 23 June 2021.

Get our daily business news

Sign up to our free email news updates.

Please tick to verify that you are not a robot

The MBA that helped Epic Environmental’s startup employee become GM and partner
Partner Content
Environmental engineer Romin Nejad began his career at Epic Environmental at a challeng...
Queensland University of Technology

Related Stories

Black Friday no "be all and end all" for sales as marketing costs bite

Black Friday no "be all and end all" for sales as marketing costs bite

November is often dubbed the new December of retail sales with Blac...

Techtronic slapped with record $15m fine for resale price maintenance

Techtronic slapped with record $15m fine for resale price maintenance

The Australian arm of Hong Kong-based supplier Techtronic has been ...

Sydney space tech company HEO launches US office

Sydney space tech company HEO launches US office

Three months after securing $12 million in a Series A round, Sydney...

7-Eleven Australia acquired for $1.7 billion

7-Eleven Australia acquired for $1.7 billion

Convenience store giant 7-Eleven Australia is set to be sold f...