Brisbane Young Entrepreneur Awards to kick off tonight with cohort of first-class founders

Brisbane Young Entrepreneur Awards to kick off tonight with cohort of first-class founders

Photo: Business News Australia

Competition is heating up in the river city as the Queensland capital's top young founders prepare to gather for the Brisbane Young Entrepreneur Awards tonight.

It has been a wet year for these 2022 finalists, but they won't be letting it rain on their parade as they converge on the W Brisbane to celebrate their successes, mingle with like minds, and revel in the spirit of an initiative that is now in its 14th year of fostering a thriving community of entrepreneurs.

The overall winner of the Brisbane Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award will become part of a legacy that includes serial tech entrepreneur Bevan Slattery, NOJA Power founder Quynh Anh Le, One Key Resources founder Grant Wechsel and InStyle Solar founder Karl Brown, among others.

The recipients of this award last year - Andrew Barnes, Vu Tran, Chris Eigeland and Chris Hood of Global edtech unicorn Go1 - went on to win the 2021 Australian Young Entrepreneur Awards. This year they have opted to step aside to make way for new rising stars, but their company is a valued sponsor of the event. 

Collectively, the Brisbane Young Entrepreneur finalists boast a combined annual turnover of $570 million - around double what it was four years ago - and have created jobs for nearly 3,000 people.

What is particularly remarkable is that almost one in every five nominees founded their business in 2021 or later, illustrating a healthy appetite for setting up new businesses in Brisbane. This represents a six percentage point increase on the share of companies last year that were established within the preceding 18 months. 

Following a comprehensive judging process and countless hours of interviews with Business News Australia journalists, the winners will be announced across 16 categories at the gala dinner.

Young Entrepreneur Awards founder Camilla Jansen says it is exciting to be kicking off this year's awards season in Brisbane to celebrate the accomplishments of the city's best and brightest young business minds.

“Tonight is going to be an incredible opportunity to meet in person and celebrate the achievements of such a talented cohort. These founders are paving the way for others, instilling a belief that anything is possible with the right vision, entrepreneurial spirit, and company culture.

“Congratulations to all the finalists and a massive thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate.

"I'd also like to thank our sponsors Go1, Venture Crowd, Brisbane City CouncilMGI Accountants and Business AdvisorsUniversity of QueenslandSoda, SAI Security Group, and OSW."

Aside from the two major awards of Young Entrepreneur of the Year and Trailblazer, the gala will span a range of sectors with 16 different award categories including:

  • Digital Disruptor
  • Fashion & Design
  • Finance
  • Fitness
  • Health & Medicine
  • Hospitality & Tourism
  • Manufacturing, Wholesale and Distribution
  • Marketing
  • PR, Media & Events
  • Professional Services
  • Property & Construction
  • Retail & Services
  • Specialist Services
  • Startup
  • Sustainability & Social Responsibility
  • Technology

The finalists in the Brisbane Young Entrepreneur Awards 2022 are as follows (in alphabetical order by company):

Patrick McCallum  – 23 Shout

Nof Hamze & Alex Hamze  – Alamour The Label

Brodie Robinson & Rob Joseph – Anti Ordinary

Alex Afflick & Dr James Fielding – Audeara

Camille Socquet-Clerc & Bertrand Caron – Bloom Impact Investing

Maddison Lawrence – BushWrapz, Slick Azz Protective Films 

Sarina Eggers-Stable – Business Kitz, Legal Kitz

Nicholas Chapman – Chapcon DC, Newstart Homes Australia

Corey Stone – CHS Building

Carl Hartmann – Compono

Christian Sutton – Conquer Health Alliance

Katie Martel – Croft PR

Stephen Bornstein – Cyborg Dynamics Engineering, Athena Artificial Intelligence

Sam Hussey – Deployable

Dilan Ildes & Thomas D’arcy – Dirty Sultan, The Rose Room, Bey Lane, Mr. Vain

Shannah Bradshaw – Disrupt Digital, SponsoredLinx, Get More Traffic, Search Marketing Experts, Disrupt Music Group, Deep Future

Alice Orozco – DrapeCo

Siobhan Coster – Eclipse

Mariana Fataccioli – Elysian Cartel

Tim Whybourne & Ryan Loehr – Emanuel Whybourne

Alex Ewart & Conor Hagan – Explorate

Georgio Batsinlas – FitazFK

Peter Hull – Fitstop

Sam McNamara – Getahead

Chris Baptista – Homes by CMA

Daniel Wessels – Jacaranda Finance

Jason Le – JRNY Digital

Joe Zhou – Joe Zhou Pty Ltd, Kedron 7 Day Chemist, Aceso Group, Picture Lock Studio

Rebecca Dredge – Kiddo

James Bennet & Kirri Jacobson – La Casa De Pooch, James Bennett, Grooming Academy

Lachlan Feeney – Labrys

Andrew Taylor – Live Co – Don’t Just Exist

Courtney Lockett – Lockett McCullough Lawyers

Jesse Stowers – Lula Rum

Braden Voight – Lynkz, Lynkz People, PolyVision

Kyle Macmillan – Macmillan Lawyers and Advisors

Nic Blair – Midnight Health

Wyatt Westmoreland & Ed Hodge – MiHIGH

Vishma Mistry – Mistry of Words

Rebecca Martin & Jae Martin – Mondaze, Mondaze Media

Carly Cottam – MOTIV Group

Thomas Fu & Tom Mcpherson – Motor Culture Australia

James Mutton – Motorcycle Trading

Kara Smyth – Nurch

Nicholas Marchesi & Lucas Patchett – Orange Sky

Josh Fritz – Patch Agency, eSpace Brisbane

Jesse Dymond, Tom Newby, Alastair Blenkin & Nathan Dench – ProcurePro

Bek Strachan – RBB Fitness Studio

Cameron Schroeder – Rhea Technologies

Katie Burton & Jessica McWatt Forbes – Red Stockholm

Caitlin Shannon & Jez Hedger – Rivercity House & Home Co, Bedzy

Peter Dodeja – SAI Security Group, SAI Investments Group

Angus Goldman & Alex Harper – Swyftx

Victoria Harrison – The Exposure Co

Nicholas Mitrossilis – The Yiros Shop

Andy Epifani & Shafali Gupta – Uuvipak

Hailey Brown – Vacayit

Laurie Malone & Sam James – VALD

Dominic Spooner – Vaulta

Giorgina Venzin – Venzin Group (Pawpaw Café, Darvella Patisserie, Melrose Restaurant, Monocle Coffee, Citron Bayside)

Myrrah Balasabas & Joshua Spurway – Vision Made Co

Tony Chan – Wagepay

Brodie Haupt & Drew Haupt – WLTH, Inception Finance, Inception Wealth Group, Bayside Home Loans, Moneymgmt, Properlytics

Lana Hill, Nick Hill & Andrew Walker – Walker Hill

Vish Uttam - Xperience Realty, Xperience Property Management, Time2Outsource, Rum Revolution, Rum Runners, Australian Rum Awards, Tiki Mugs Australia

Bailey Page – Zip Zap

Get our daily business news

Sign up to our free email news updates.

Please tick to verify that you are not a robot

Unpacking equity: Finding your funding fit
Partner Content
Armed with a growing business and a great opportunity, a business owner’s next challe...
Australian Business Growth Fund

Related Stories

Leading Aussie irrigation services group Green Brain acquired by CropX

Leading Aussie irrigation services group Green Brain acquired by CropX

Green Brain, an Adelaide-based irrigation monitoring and management...

Consumer watchdog rings alarm bells over influencer endorsements, online reviews

Consumer watchdog rings alarm bells over influencer endorsements, online reviews

The Australian consumer watchdog has found an alarming percentage o...

Government deal to pass new IR laws leaves businesses shell-shocked

Government deal to pass new IR laws leaves businesses shell-shocked

An agreement with crossbenchers by the federal government to assure...

DP World breaks ground on 10.4ha Brisbane Container Park

DP World breaks ground on 10.4ha Brisbane Container Park

Dubai-headquartered freight solutions group DP World has broken gro...