Sydney Young Entrepreneur Awards raise a toast to ambitious finalists

Sydney Young Entrepreneur Awards raise a toast to ambitious finalists

Photo: Business News Australia

The Australian Young Entrepreneur Awards attracted record nominations in 2022, and for the first time since the initiative went national in 2018 there were more applications from Sydney than any other city.

This makes sense given the NSW capital is the country's largest, most populous business hub, but it was the diversity and forward-thinking, progressive clout of the group that the Business News Australia team and judges found most striking.

What was also notable was the level of entrepreneurs who didn't qualify as finalists due to the tight competition this year. 

As the culmination of interviews, analysis and a rigorous selection process of entrepreneurs from across the Harbour City who shared their time and stories with us, leading founders will gather tonight for the Sydney instalment of the awards at ivy Ballroom to unwind, mingle and celebrate their achievements. 

The competition is set to be red-hot across the various award categories and for the top prize, which was claimed last year by One Stop Warehouse (OSW) and Discover Energy founders Anson Zhang and Jeff Yu. The duo also won the event's Manufacturing, Wholesale and Distribution category, as well as taking out the Sustainability & Social Responsibility Award.

Known as one of Australia’s largest solar distributors, OSW’s growth was reinforced when China-based GCL acquired a 51 per cent stake in the company six years ago. With the backing of the world's largest solar panel manufacturer, the group has gone from strength to strength under the leadership of Zhang and Yu who in 2018 launched their own renewable energy retailer Discover Energy.

The finalists will also be vying for the coveted Trailblazer Award, which recognises a founder who has achieved exponential growth in their business over a short period of time and is on the cusp of much greater things. 

Last year, the award was taken home by Mina Nada and Michael Johnson, who are the co-founders of e-bike rental platform Zoomo. Founded in 2017, the company banked $28 million in a Series B round led by top-tier US VC Collaborative Fund nine months ago.

Following a comprehensive judging process, the winners will be announced across 16 categories at the gala dinner.

Young Entrepreneur Awards founder Camilla Jansen said she was excited to kick off the event tonight and give Sydney’s talented finalists the chance to celebrate their successes.  

“Tonight’s event is all about showcasing the most inspirational young founders who have worked hard to build remarkable companies from the ground up. Every entrepreneur should be incredibly proud of the contributions they have made to economies at home and abroad.

“I’d also like to thank our corporate partners Go1VentureCrowdOSWWhispir and iVvyfor helping us make this event possible."

Aside from the two major awards of Young Entrepreneur of the Year and Trailblazer, the gala will span a range of sectors with 16 different award categories including:

  • Digital Disruptor
  • Fashion & Design
  • Finance
  • Food & Beverage
  • Health & Medicine
  • Hospitality & Tourism
  • Manufacturing, Wholesale & Distribution
  • Marketing
  • PR, Media & Events
  • Professional Services
  • Property & Construction
  • Retail & Services
  • Specialist Services
  • Startup
  • Sustainability & Social Responsibility
  • Technology

The finalists in the 2022 Sydney Young Entrepreneur Awards are as follows (in alphabetical order by company):

Dr Patrick Aouad & Daniel Mann - [cu]health, Loxley Health

Jaya Yoannidis – A Man & His Cave

Lambros Photios – Adaca, Ante

Xavier Orr & Chris Shaw – Advanced Navigation

Tom Caska – Aerologix

Alex Khor, Adrian Petersen, Mike Forster, Adam Smith & Dave Insull – AfterWork Ventures

Preet Singh – Ampar, AEK Media

Ammar Issa – AMR Hair & Beauty Group

Zyran Erasmus – App Boxer, The X/OVER, Glo Diabetes

Dr Benjamin Coorey & Robert Coorey – Archistar

Paul Eastwood – Argon & Co

Paul Wenham, Erika Villanueva & Nicholas Lew Ton – AssuranceLab

Chris Parker – Awaken

Sam Wood – Azura Fashion Group

Jenna Davies & Jade Spooner – Big Uppetite

Charlie Karaboga – Block Earner

Jason Hood – BourkeHood

Nick Jacobs & Aaron Bassin – Bridgit

Candice Gersun Meisels – Candice PR

Paul Maric & Alborz Fallah –

Xixi Liu & Allen Fu – CheekyGlo

Emily Bobis & Angus McDonald – Compass IoT

Kirsten Kore – Designerex

Shivani Gopal – Elladex

Amal Wakim & Jade Spooner – Equalution

Neil Fabry – Fab Industrial

Samantha Cook & Stuart Cook – Flave

Ben Lipschitz – FoodByUs

Bishara Hatoum – Fundo Loans

George Papura – Georgiemane

Cooper Darling-Blair – GovConnex

Stephen Brush & Corey Biczo – HealthProof

Anaita Sarkar & Vikram Davé – Hero Packaging

Michael Lin & Lisa Lin – Hey Mama

Sam Lambert & Hayley Lambert – H + S Building NSW

Matthew Holloway – Holloway Group

Arjun Paliwal – InvestorKit

Jack Petersen – InVista Group Australia

Stephen Pastor – Kings of Neon

Julian Fayad –

Rita Agoulian – LickYourPhone Media

Mathieu Bertrand & Jenna Leo – Like Family

Brad Manuel – Livewire Group International

Ally Mellor – Locako

Carl Hartmann – Lyre’s

Alexis Soulopoulos – Mad Paws

Abdul Razak & Samira Razak – Maple Community Services

Jamie Cerexhe & Doug Vincent – Mastt

Sean Pieres & Matthew Craig – MindArc

Amy Elliott – National Inquiry Agency

Sean Crook & Christopher Makhoul – Neolink

Afonso Firmo & Lochie Burke – NETNADA

Bianca Commisso & Anthony Simonette – OnPointPlanningCo

Jacob Markarian & Salpi Markarian – OWEST

Nick Nicolaides & Hayden Smith – Pearler

Jules Bouillon – Pistou

Will Chambers & Scott Ellie-Flint – Recess

Dr Vincent Candrawinata – Renovatio Bioscience

Nathan Rust – Safetyline Jalousie

Steve Chapman & Sam Prince – Shine Drink

William On & Rob Hango-Zada – Shippit

Vishavdeep Singh – Solar Power Nation

Katya Vakulenko – Soup Agency

Tomoyuki Hachigo & Alex Solo – Sprintlaw

Lelde Smits & Julia Maguire – The Capital Network

Sam Jamsheedi – Trademark Global, Trademark Group

Hiral Shah – Trikon, Metaweb

Stuart Cook & Ryan Barnes – TWIYO Capital & Advisory

Khoder Daher – United For Care, All SDA

Anish Sinha & Skye Theodorou – Upcover

Noah Verin – Urban Green Produce

Amanda Siqueira & Michelle Aguilar – VAPAR

Jeremy Yang & Mo Moubayed – Veridooh

Wilson Poon – WhiteTower Digital

Raj Singh – Windsor & Lux

Ben Delaney, Vanessa Zhao, Ho Jun Tang & Adrian Brossard – Yellowbox

Tyler Martin & Sophie Heatley – Yes You Can Drinks

Help us deliver quality journalism to you.
As a free and independent news site providing daily updates
during a period of unprecedented challenges for businesses everywhere
we call on your support

Deliver on sustainable business promises with Modern Group’s WincovER rating
Partner Content
As a business owner, you’ll know that sustainability is a core part of developing...
Modern Group

Related Stories

Balmain Leagues Club $500m redevelopment with Rozelle Village planned to start by mid-2023

Balmain Leagues Club $500m redevelopment with Rozelle Village planned to start by mid-2023

Chinese developer Heworth has rejigged its plans for the redevelopm...

Butter Insurance raises $1.3m to roll out insurance-at-checkout vision

Butter Insurance raises $1.3m to roll out insurance-at-checkout vision

Sydney-based insurtech Butter Insurance is gearing up for its natio...

TMG Developments looks to sell Sydney's iconic Manly Wharf

TMG Developments looks to sell Sydney's iconic Manly Wharf

The family-owned company that redeveloped the Manly Wharf as a food...

Ellume plucked out of administration by rapid test competitor for $57m

Ellume plucked out of administration by rapid test competitor for $57m

Brisbane-based rapid COVID-19 test maker Ellume has been plucked ou...